Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Karnataka Details

Karnataka is a state in South West India. It was created on 1 November 1956.The capital and largest city is Bangalore.
There are 30 districts in Karnataka:

  • Bagalkote
  • Bangalore Rural
  • Bangalore Urban
  • Belgaum
  • Bellary
  • Bidar
  • Bijapur
  • Chamarajanagar
  • Chikkaballapur
  • Chikkamagaluru
  • Chitradurga
  • Dakshina Kannada
  • Davanagere
  • Dharwad
  • Gadag
  • Gulbarga
  • Hassan
  • Haveri
  • Kodagu
  • Kolar
  • Koppal
  • Mandya
  • Mysore
  • Raichur
  • Ramanagara
  • Shimoga
  • Tumkur
  • Udupi
  • Uttara Kannada
  • Yadgir

       Each district is governed by a district commissioner or district magistrate. The districts are further divided into sub-divisions, which are governed by sub-divisional magistrates; sub-divisions comprise blocks containing panchayats (village councils) and town municipalities.
As per the 2001 census, Karnataka's six largest cities sorted in order of decreasing population were, Bangalore, Hubli-Dharwad, Mysore, Gulbarga, Belgaum and Mangalore. Bangalore is the only city with a population of more than one million. Bangalore Urban, Belgaum and Gulbarga are the most populous districts, each of them having a population of more than three million. Gadag, Chamarajanagar and Kodagu districts have a population of less than one million

       There are 481 degree colleges affiliated with one of the universities in the state, viz. Bangalore University, Gulbarga University, Karnatak University, Kuvempu University, Mangalore University and Mysore University.. In 1998, the engineering colleges in the state were brought under the newly formed Visvesvaraya Technological University headquartered at Belgaum, whereas the medical colleges are run under the jurisdiction of the Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences. Some of these baccalaureate colleges are accredited with the status of a deemed university. There are 186 engineering, 39 medical and 41 dental colleges in the state

No comments:

Post a Comment